Conservation Areas

A Conservation Area is an area where the historical origins and relationships between elements such as the buildings and the street layout create an overall sense that is worth maintaining.

The purpose of a Conservation Area is to protect heritage and make sure that new development does not detract from the streetscape, landscape and character of the area.

There are four (4) major Conservation Areas in the Inverell Shire. These are:

Ashford Town Centre Conservation Area

Belgravia Conservation Area

Inverell CBD Conservation Area

Ross Hill Conservation Area

These Conservation Areas also contain individually listed heritage items.

The following publication Design In Context: Guidelines for infill development in the historic context should be used when designing within these Conservation Areas.

The publication sets out guidelines that aim to provide parameters by which Architects and building designers can contribute to the future in a creative and inspiring way, while ensuring the special qualities of a heritage place are retained.

The guidelines do not seek to exclude the extraordinary but to improve the ordinary and encourage quality while demanding respect for the existing context.

A copy of this publication can be viewed at

Inverell also has the:

Pioneer Village Conservation Area

Pioneer Village is a collection of authentic buildings which have been relocated from their original sites throughout the area.

Further information about Pioneer Village can be viewed at

Please note that Council publications are available in Portable Document Format (PDF) and require Abobe Acrobat to open. Adobe Acrobat Reader is available from the Adobe website  Adobe Acrobat software has an embeded 'screen reader' which can read aloud the text in most PDF files and is available for free at